A Bit of Designing Photostory

Hmm… I want to design something. Where is my tape measure? Here it is.

Miss Bliss: patchwork top design

Alright, now what to design? A dress? A pair of pants? A tank top? What about shorts? Hmm… I think I will design a tank top dressy thing. Now I am going to make a sketch.

Miss Bliss: Patchwork top designing

There. Now I am going to take some measurements. Over to my dress form!

Miss Bliss: Patchwork top designing

11 in… 22 in… 15 in… Hmm… I think it is going to have a high waist and is going to fall mid thigh. Maybe I should pair it with shorts. Little cold for shorts. How about pants?

Miss Bliss: Patchwork top designing

Nah, I am going to just make the top. Now for some fabric!

Miss Bliss: patchwork top designing

Time to make the pattern. I am going to draft this one from scratch. First I mark points, then I draw lines, and finally I alter it to make my pattern.

Miss Bliss: Patchwork top designing

Then I sew, sew, sew! I check the fit, sew on velcro and other finishing touches then… Julie! Julie! Julie where are you! Then I call my fashion model.

Miss Bliss: Patchwork top designing

Then to the runway!

Miss Bliss: Patchwork top designing

Some notes (from R) on the photostory- This is not necessarily how I design, but it works for the photostory. This was the first time I drafted. Here is the tutorial I used. Scroll down to find the drafting tutorials. The drawing of a draft is a silly picture, that draft might fit a football with arms and legs.

4 thoughts on “A Bit of Designing Photostory

Leave a Reply

